The first Koori Indigenous Arts Award will open at Lismore Regional Gallery on Saturday 4 December 2021 with the announcement of the Award winners. The exhibition will be on display at the gallery from 4 December 2021 until 30 January 2022.


The Awards will be judged by Djon Mundine OAM FAHA, a Bundjalung man and a foundational figure in Australian art. Mundine says, ‘Aboriginal people are everywhere, and Aboriginal people do everything. Australia wide we need to heal our country by painting, performing, by making art. We are regaining our connection and healing. The Koori Mail is edited here in the Northern Rivers, but it engaged in conversations for all Aboriginal people across the continent. Our conversations inside this publication are a form of healing. And it’s so appropriate that The Koori Mail are supporting this other form of conversation.’


Finalists for 2021: Jacinta Annandale, Chenaya Bancroft-Davis, Michael Baragud, Billy Black, Mia Boe, Theresa Bolt, Moorina Bonini, Joy Burruna, Melinda Cain, Kylie Caldwell, Theo Clarke, Luke Close, Mark Cora, Jingalu Craig, Louise Daniels, Charmaine Davis, Margaret Djarrbalabal, Janette Duncan, Penny Evans, Suzy Evans, Peter Faulkner-Roberts, Jenny Fraser, Zoe Golding, Danielle Gorogo, Amala Groom, Hannah Kaitap, Aneika Kapeen, Gus Kelly, Becca King, Ethan Kotiau, Oral Laurie, Jahvis Loveday, Kent Morris, Amelia Murphy-Taylor, Edwinea Paulson, Kobi Philbin, Eli Pietens, Kyle Prieto, Brian Robinson, Cara Shields, Beverly Smith, Dulcie Stevens, Sophie Taylor, Amarina Toby, Margaret Torrens, Anthony Walker, Daniel Warrulukuma, Bradley Webb and Jason Wing.


The opening event will take place at 2pm for a 2:15pm start on 4 December at The Lismore Regional Gallery with RSVP’s required.


Image: Kylie Caldwell, Mrs & Mr Watcher  2021, digital print on paper, 63 x 70cm, courtesy of the artist