Accessible Arts along with Varuna, The National Writers House were thrilled with the response from 50 writers who applied to The Writers Space Fellowship program. The response from NSW-based writers with disability was considered a great effort and evidence of demand for the new program which is made possible by Arts Restart and funding from the NSW Government.

All applications were double-read during phase one of the selection process and were then shortlisted into a second stage to manage any conflicts of interest. The program will make Varuna history by offering its very first six in-person residencies to be run concurrently with six online residencies. This will allow 12 writers to network over the course of the two-week period this September. Each writer will also receive a professional development package of $1,100 towards manuscript consultations, mentoring or workshop participation.

The six writers who will receive a Writer’s Space Residential Fellowship are:

  • Jessica Friedman
 for the novel Priest Pond.

  • El Gibbs for Making our NDIS: stories from disabled people.

  • Kath Kenny for As a Woman: When Betty Rocked the Pram.

  • Woo-Keun Lim for SEOUL MATES.

  • Fiona Murphy
 for the literary crime thriller The Heart Feeds Itself First.

  • Gaele Sobott for the collection of poems Earthly.

The six writers who will receive a Writer’s Space Online Fellowship are:

  • Emma Ashmere for The Double View.

  • Cynthia Banham for Bergamot Grove.

  • Michelle Fermanis-Windward for the collection of poems The Symbiotic Thread.

  • Jules Jones for The Dead Wife.

  • Erin Sayers for the Australian science-fiction novel Harbour.

  • Kerri Shying for the collection of poems Blursday.

Varuna assessors would also like to highly commend Danielle Maas.

Find out more.