The 2022 Australia Council Awards are now open for nominations. The Awards recognise the contribution that Australian artists have made to the creative arts and cultural life of the nation.


These national Awards are designed to recognise outstanding and sustained contributions by Australian artists in music, literature, community arts and cultural development, emerging and experimental arts, visual arts, theatre, and dance.


Nominations are being sought for the following categories:

  • Award for Dance
  • Award for Emerging & Experimental Arts
  • Award for Theatre
  • Award for Visual Arts
  • Don Banks Music Award
  • Kirk Robson Award for Community Arts and Cultural Development
  • Lifetime Achievement in Literature
  • Ros Bower Award for Community Arts and Cultural Development


The Australia council will announce the Awards in early 2022.


Nominations close Tuesday 26 October.

Find out more.



Image: Australia Council Awards 2020. 2020 Australia Council Award Recipients, Australia Council CEO, Chair and Arts Practice Directors. Left to right (front row), Margaret Wild, Tommy Murphy, r e a, Michelle Ryan, Autumn Skuthorpe, Kath Duncan and Deborah Conway AM (back row) Jeremy Smith, Patricia Adjei, Andy Rantzen, Adrian Burnett, Annette Madden, Sam Walsh AO, Adrian Collette AM, Wenona Byrne.

Credit: Australia Council for the Arts.