Regional Arts NSW
Skip to content

Tamworth Music Festival | People's Choice Awards

The Australian Country Music People’s Choice Awards have been a regular part of the Tamworth Music Festival for the last 15 years. This year, the finalists list pays tribute to several young, regional NSW talents.

Ashleigh Dallas is the 20-year old fiddlist nominated for best female vocalist, and is a home-grown Tamworth native. Teen sensation, Brothers3, who are up for Best Country Music Group and Best Video Clip, are graduates of the Country Music Academy in Tamworth. The three brothers, Shardyn aged 16, Tayzin, 15,  and Makirum 14 years old, have spent much of their young lives on their family’s farm on the NSW Central Western slopes. Sami Cooke (SAMI), is from Young, NSW and has been nominated for Most Promising Future Star, off the back of a whirlwind year touring and collecting accolades for singing and songwriting.

Regional Arts NSW wish all these young people, and the other nominees the very best for the Awards.

Here is the finalist list:

Best Female Vocalist: Beccy Cole, Ashleigh Dallas, Christie Lamb, Amber Lawrence and Dianne Lindsay.

Best Male Vocalist: Troy Cassar-Daley, Adam Kilpatrick, Ben Ransom, Adam Toms and Graham Rodger.

Best Group or Duo: Brothers3, Dozzi, Forever Road, The Hillbilly Goats and The Long & The Short Of It.

Best Album: Beautiful Noise by Lee Kernaghan, Changing Years by Graham Rodger, Enchanted Wood by Wendy Wood, Let It Drift by Brothers3 and Slow Burn by Ben Ransom.

Best Song: The Chimney & The Rose written & recorded by Graham Rodger; Let It Drift written by Alita Fahey and Colin McKenzie, recorded by Brothers3; Miracle Girl, written by Dale Duncan, recorded by Dale Duncan and Johanna Hemara; This Time, written by Jesse Dozzi, Nina Dozzi and Natalie Howard, recorded by Dozzi; and Truck Stop Honey, written and recorded by Ben Ransom.

Best Bush Ballad: Akubras In The Snow, written by Peter Simpson, recorded by Dianne Lindsay & Peter Simpson; The Heart Of Australia, written by Billy Wye, Shaza Leigh and Dale Duncan, recorded by Dale Duncan; Heart Of The Kimberley, written and recorded by Graham Rodger; Memories Of Tent Hill, written by E Jillett & R Jillett, recorded by Rachel Jillett; and What Makes A Balladeer, written by Alita Fahey and Makirum, recorded by Brothers3.

Best Video Clip: Christmas (I’m Coming Home) by Terry Clark, Overdrive by Kristy James, Robyn by The Long & The Short Of It, This Time by Dozzi and Tiny’s Mandolin by Brothers3.

Most Promising Future Star: Terry Clark, SAMI, Kristy James, Nathaniel O’Brien and Ben Ransom.

Best Vocal: Beyond These City Lights by Jayne Denham and Shannon Noll, Dreamtime Cathedrals by Shaza Leigh and Justin Standley, Lights On The Hill by Troy Cassar-Daley & Adam Harvey, Miracle Girl by Dale Duncan and Johanna Hemara and You Don’t Know What It’s Like by Wendy Wood and Steve Charles.

Most Popular Radio DJ: Carter Edwards of the Super Radio Network, Trish Espin of Hot Country Queensland, Jane Kellaway of 2MCR Campbelltown, Ron Trundle of todayscountry94one and Wally Sparrow of Radio Adelaide.

Most Popular Radio Station or Program: 989FM (Brisbane, Qld), Good Morning Country (Community Radio Network, national), Kix The Hottest Country, Radio Northern Beaches (Sydney, NSW) and todayscountry94one (Central Coast, NSW).


Tickets are still available for this fantastic event.   Tickets can be purchased online from or by telephone 02 6767 5300