Regional Arts NSW
Skip to content

Regional Arts NSW | New Board for 2019

At the Board meeting following the Annual General Meeting of Regional Arts NSW held on Wednesday 10 April, the Directors have made a number of new appointments to the Board.

Julie Briggs, from Wagga Wagga, was elected as Chair following a completion of tenure by Stephen Champion. Julie previously held the position of Deputy Chair of Regional Arts NSW. Julie is a lawyer with over fifteen years of experience working with businesses and government in the NSW Riverina region, including previous roles as Chair of Eastern Riverina Arts and CEO of the Riverina Eastern Regional Organisation of Councils.

In accepting her appointment as Chair, Julie paid tribute to outgoing Chair, Stephen Champion and outgoing Board Director, Ben Roche, “whose exceptional and tireless services to this organisation will be sorely missed. Stephen has brilliantly steered this Board with great wisdom and strength, and his extraordinary contributions to regional arts – particularly with the roaring success of ARTLANDS and Artstate – cannot be overstated.

“Meanwhile, Ben’s unwavering diligence and leadership as a Board member has been nothing short of amazing, especially with his work on the Regional Arts Fund Assessment Panel.”

Paul Scott-Williams was elected as Deputy Chair. Paul is CEO and Artistic Director of Goulburn Regional Conservatorium and brings to the Board over thirty years of combined experience as a performer, arts educator and arts advocate.

Two new Board members were also appointed.

Patrick Healey was nominated by Arts Northern Rivers. He is the General Manager of Northern Rivers Performing Arts (NORPA) and has served on the Boards of numerous organisations, including the Lismore Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Creative Lismore, Wundjarri Mali, and the Sydney Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras.

Dr Travis Holland was nominated by Arts OutWest. He is the Course Director in Communication and Creative Industries at Charles Sturt University, where he is also a lecturer and researcher in Communication and Digital Media. Travis has a background in academia, specialising in digital communication, and has served on the Board of several not-for-profit community organisations, including the Southern Highlands Foundation and Rotaract Australia.

The CEO of Regional Arts NSW, Elizabeth Rogers, welcomed the new Board as a group of people with an outstanding and diverse range of skills to inform the Company’s future.

RANSW 2019 Board
Julie Briggs – Chair
Paul Scott-Williams – Deputy Chair
David Dwyer – Treasurer
Bridget Guthrie – Director
Sharni Jones – Director
Sarah Parsons – Director
Nicholas Pickard – Director
Patrick Healey – Director
Travis Holland – Director