Regional Arts NSW
Skip to content

2019 Prime Minister's Literary Awards Now Open

The Australian Government is seeking entries for the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards, open to works published or released in 2018.

Established in 2008, the Awards help to support Australian authors and promote the importance of Australian literature.

Entrants are being sought across six categories for books of high literary merit, and in the case of the prize for Australian history, scholarly accomplishment.

The categories are:

Entrance is free and the entries for the Australian history category can be submitted in a range of formats, including journals, magazines, an interactive or online project, film or documentary.

Prize money is awarded in each category with up to $80,000 for winners and $5,000 for shortlisted books.   

Entries close 15 March 2019 at 5pm (AEST).

To apply, visit: