Regional Arts NSW
Skip to content

The 2018 Windmill Trust Scholarship for Regional NSW Artists is Open for Applications

The National Association for the Visual Arts (NAVA), together with the Windmill Trust, is pleased to announce that the 2018 Windmill Trust Scholarship for Regional NSW Artists has opened for applications.
Established in 1997 in memory of the artist Penny Meagher, the Windmill Trust Scholarship was born out of a desire to offer support to Australian visual artists from rural and regional areas to advance their careers.
Last year, as part of its 20th anniversary, the Windmill Trust doubled the scholarship to $10,000. 2018 will be the second round of this significant scholarship transforming practice for regional artists.
This award opens up avenues for regional artists seeking to further their professional development, exhibition opportunities or deepen research.
2017 winners, Katoomba-based duo, Rachel Peachey and Paul Mosig (pictured), said “the generous support of the Trust allowed us the time and space to carry out field research to inform several new works.”
This will be the 21st year of this unique opportunity for artists in regional areas throughout New South Wales. The impact is career-changing. The recipient will join an esteemed alumni of 20 years of scholars working in across a variety of traditional and contemporary mediums from all corners of regional NSW, including Dubbo, Goulburn, Murrumbateman, Wapengo, Port Macquarie, Coonamble, the Blue Mountains and more.
Applicants are eligible across regional NSW, from the North Coast to the South East & Tablelands regions, from the Far West to the Hunter and everything in between.
Applications for the 2018 Windmill Trust Scholarship for Regional NSW Artists close 23:59 AEST Saturday 26 May 2018. 1 x $10,000 scholarship will be awarded. Applications can be made online at:
For further information on the Windmill Trust and previous winners of this award visit