Regional Arts NSW
Skip to content

Entries Open for Australia's Richest Undergraduate Writing Prize

Calling all emerging writers: Australia’s richest undergraduate creative writing award is now open for entries.
Presented by the Emerging Writers’ Festival, The Monash University Undergraduate Prize for Creative Writing will award $4000 to an undergraduate or honours student for the best work of creative writing.
$1000 will be awarded to the highest placed Monash University student.
It is the mission of the prize, now in its seventh year, to discover the work of new writers in Australia and New Zealand’s literary and educational communities. The 2018 award will be judged by expert panellists Alice Grundy (co-founder of Seizure), Nic Low (author of Arms Race and Other Stories) and Stuart Grant (Monash University).
“It’s an honour to continue our long-term partnership with Monash University providing this remarkable opportunity for emerging undergraduate writers,” says Emerging Writers’ Festival Artistic Director Izzy Roberts-Orr.
“Through this ongoing commitment to nurturing creativity, we have seen an impressive list of previous prize winners go on to do wonderful things. A prize of this scale ensures a bright future for Australian writing.”
2017 joint first place winners, sharing the $4000 prize were University of Adelaide student Ann Jackson for The Lady Who Walks and University of Waikato student Aimee-Jane Anderson-O’Connor for Femina—chosen from over 437 entries.
“This prize reminded me to take risks; to put pen to paper, to put words to moments, to be brave and share those words. It taught me that there is courage in telling and in listening, in taking the time to sit and listen to those voices emerging around us.” says Anderson-O’Connor.
The winners of the prize will be announced on the opening night of 2018 Emerging Writers’ Festival (Tuesday, 19 June 2019).
Monash University is the principal educational partner of the Emerging Writers’ Festival and the Monash Prize demonstrates both parties’ commitment to providing learning and career-advancement opportunities to Australia’s emerging literary voices.
Closing date for entries is midnight Sunday, 15 April 2018. Entries must be between 1500 – 3000 words.
First prize: $4000
Highest placed Monash University student: $1000
Genres: All types of creative writing including short stories, nonfiction narration and narrative verse.
Judges: Alice Grundy (co-founder of Seizure), Nic Low (author of Arms Race and other Stories) and Stuart Grant (Monash University).
Eligibility: Any university student enrolled in an undergraduate or honours degree in Australia or New Zealand may enter.
For more information visit