Regional Arts NSW
Skip to content

Cowra Regional Art Gallery | 2017 Calleen Art Award

The Calleen Art Award encourages originality, creativity and artistic excellence. The Calleen Art Award is an acquisitive national painting prize in any subject and style established in 1977 by Patricia Fagan OAM. The winner of the 2017 Calleen Art Award will receive $20,000 in prize money made possible by the generous support of the Calleen Trust and the winning work will become part of the Calleen Collection at the Cowra Regional Art Gallery. The Awards Judge for 2017 is Angus Trumble Director, National Portrait Gallery.

2017 marks the 40 year anniversary for the Calleen Art Award and during the past ten years it has developed a unique reputation as a major art prize in regional New South Wales. Previous winners include Tania Mason (2016), Yvonne Boag (2015), Naomi White (2014), Gladdy Kemarre (2013), G.W.Bot (2012), Peter Gardiner (2011), Claire Martin (2010) and Rowan Mathews (2009).

Entries are open until 4pm 3 March 2017. Entries must be submitted to the Cowra Regional Art Gallery 77 Darling Street, Cowra NSW 2794.

Finalists will be notified by email mid March and listed on the website at the end on March. The announcement of the 2017 Calleen Art Award winner will take place at the official opening on Saturday 6 May 2017.

Exhibition dates are Sunday 7 May to Sunday 18 June 2017.


People’s Choice Award
A People’s Choice Award (non-acquisitive) is awarded at the end of the exhibition. The winner will receive $500.


Key dates

For more information and entry forms, visit the website.