Regional Arts NSW
Skip to content

Entries open for 2015 Parliament of NSW Aboriginal Art Prize

Aboriginal artists in NSW have an opportunity to be in the running to win $40,000 with the 2015 Parliament of NSW Aboriginal Art Prize.

Entries are open for the prize and close on 31 July, 2015. The winner will be announced at the exhibition opening at Campbelltown Arts Centre on Wednesday, 14 October.

The prize is made possible by a partnership between the Parliament, Campbelltown City Council, Arts NSW and the UNSW Faculty of Art & Design.

Winner of the 2014 prize was Nicole Foreshew with her work  It comes without seeking 1, Digital print on Hahnemuhle photo rag paper (200x100cm).  Nicole, a member of the Wiradjuri nation, was a previous finalist in the competition and in 2012 won the associated UNSW Art & Design Indigenous Professional Development Award.

Previous winners include Karla Dickens, Roy Kennedy, Esme Timbery, and Danny Eastwood whose work is now part of the permanent collection of the Parliament of NSW.

Reigonal Arts NSW Aboriginal Arts Devleopment Officer, Anthony Walker was a finalist in the 2014 competition.

The annual event is one of the largest art prizes currently on offer for Aboriginal artists in Australia, and is awarded by an independent panel of experts.

Finalists will be exhibited at Parliament House throughout October, and will be toured in regional galleries in 2016. In addition to the main prize, entrants can also choose to be considered for the UNSW Faculty of Art & Design Aboriginal Arts Residency Award.

More information on eligibility criteria, full terms and conditions is available here.